Make room in your wallet for more rewards

I have a confession to make: I’m a bit of a retail rewards junkie. I join loyalty programs nearly every chance I get, so my wallet is practically overflowing with cards that earn me reward points for the purchases I make at certain retailers.

In many cases, these programs lead to very few tangible rewards. Or if they do, they require you to spend a fortune along the way.

But some rewards programs are certainly worthwhile, and even if they only lead to $10 in savings every few months, hey – it’s better than nothing!

So, as you can imagine, I was pretty excited to learn about the new loyalty program that Chapters Indigo is launching. Plum Rewards is a free new program that earns you 10 points for every dollar you spend in store (at any Indigo, Chapters, Coles, Indigospirit, World’s Biggest Bookstore, SmithBooks and The Book Company locations). Members also get up to 5% off books that are purchased online.

Once you rack up 2,500 points, you can cash them in for $5 of store credit. 4,500 points gets you $10, 8,500 points gets you $20, and so on.

Depending on how often you buy books, it could take quite a while to earn store credit under this program. But on the bright side, there’s no rush to redeem your points: they won’t expire as long as you’re earning at least one point every two years.

Indigo has another loyalty program, irewards, which will continue to exist alongside the Plum Rewards program. Rather than points, irewards provides members with a discount on all purchases: 40% off on bestsellers, 10% off on other books, 5% off on “other” merchandise (a category that’s growing by the day: Still a bookstore, but with fewer books) and 5% off books bought online.

The catch is, irewards membership comes with an annual fee of about $35, which means it’s only worthwhile for frequent Indigo shoppers. The new Plum program – because it’s free – will enable occasional shoppers to jump on the rewards bandwagon, too.

If you don’t share my appreciation for retail rewards, you’re probably cringing at the thought of another plastic card taking up space in your wallet. And I’ll admit, with so many loyalty programs around, it’s hard to keep track of them all. But until my wallet splits at the seams, I think it can handle one more.

3 Comments

Filed under Loyalty Programs

3 responses to “Make room in your wallet for more rewards

  1. I have Plum Rewards but was saddened when I lost my plum point because of the 12-month inactivity. I learned the hard way. Now, I’m tracking my purchases in Chapters especially the date.

  2. Sorry to hear that your points expired! They must have changed the rules since introducing the Plum Rewards program. They used to require some type of account activity at least once every two years in order to prevent points from expiring; now members must register account activity at least once every 12 months. I’m always frustrated when things like that happen. Good idea to begin tracking your purchases!

  3. Pingback: Treat yo self: Shopping tips from a pro | Retail Realm

Leave a Reply

