Boots for a Canadian winter

My new boots.

Ready or not, winter is back. And it’s brought with it all of the slush, snow and freezing temperatures that we’ve all been missing so much since last winter. Or in my case, dreading.

Winter is definitely not my favourite season, but one thing has made the first week of the season a lot more bearable than it otherwise might have been: warm new winter boots.

I invested in a new pair of boots impulsively a few months back, when I stumbled upon a too-good-to-pass-up sale at a new store called Flurries in Square One Shopping Centre. And I’m really glad I did.

The Canadian chain of 12 stores and mall kiosks specializes in sheepskin products like boots, slippers, bags and gloves, for men, women and kids. A pair of black winter boots, suede on the outside and extra soft sheepskin on the inside, caught my eye in the store right away, and the moment I tried them on, I was sold.

These are the warmest, most comfortable winter boots I ever remember wearing, and as an added bonus, they look great. With silver buckles on the sides, they’re dressier than the ubiquitous Uggs, and even appropriate on casual days at the office. And as I’ve been trekking around in the snow the past couple days, they’ve done an amazing job of keeping my toes warm and dry.

With the company’s design team based in Toronto, these boots are created with a Canadian winter in mind – and it shows.

Now, all I need are some matching sheepskin earmuffs and gloves, and I’ll really be set for the winter.

If you’re in the market for a pair of boots to get you through the next few months in the city, I recommend checking out Flurries, either online or at one of their locations across the country.

Other Flurries products.

Other Flurries boot styles.

Leave a comment

Filed under Boutiques

Leave a Reply

